Urban Design Overlay Districts

Map of Design and Preservation Districts

Throughout the City of Columbia, there are four Overlay Design Districts that have their own unique set of principles and guidelines.

The design review process for Columbia's design districts is administered by the Design/Development Review Commission (DDRC) and the design review staff. All projects come directly to staff for consultation first. Staff may then direct the applicant as to whether the project can be approved at the staff level, or must be directed through the Commission according to City Ordinance.

List of Design Districts

City Center Design/Development District

Five Points Design District

Innovista Design District

North Main Corridor Design District

Design/Development Review Commission

If you have further questions, or would like to more information, please contact us

Not sure if your property is within a Design/Development District?  Check out the City Information Viewer Interactive Online Map.