City Council is your voice when it comes to local laws, city services, and the official policies that keep Columbia vital and moving forward.
Our mayor and six City Council members serve staggered, four-year terms. The mayor and two council members are elected "at large," and four council members are elected from geographical districts to best assure that everyone's voice is heard, and that services, issues and concerns are addressed with a thoughtful balance between the needs of specific neighborhoods and the city as a whole.
This "Council-Manager" form of government was adopted by Columbia to provide professional, equitable, non-political administration of public services and city policies.
The mayor and City Council members serve with a mandate to represent you.
It's up to you to let them know what you think!
To view profiles for the Mayor and City Council, please click below:
Mayor Steve Benjamin
Councilman Sam Davis
Councilwoman Tameika Isaac Devine
Councilman Moe Baddourah
Councilman Howard Duvall, Jr.
Councilman Edward McDowell, Jr.
Councilman Daniel J. Rickenmann