The Transportation Penny Oversight Committee will review, comment on, and provide recommendations on the Transportation Penny to Richland County Council. Transportation Penny Oversight Committee members will recommend any reordering of the prioritization (if applicable) of the projects list. Members will review the proposals for the Program Management Firm(s), and will provide feedback to Richland County Council and will provide feedback to Richland County Council regarding the race-and gender-neutral Small Local Business Enterprise program. They will also provide quarterly reports to each respective jurisdiction from which they are appointed.



The Commission consists of fifteen (15) members. Seven (7) appointments are made each by Richland  County Councils, three (3) by the Columbia City Council, and one (1) each from the City Councils of Irmo, Forest Acres, Blythewood, Arcadia Lakes, and Eastover.
Term of office is five (5) years with the possibility to be re-appointed for 1 term.
All appointees must reside within the corporate limits of the city.


Meetings are scheduled by Richland County.

City Appointed Committee Members:

Term Ends
Virginia Sanders1
February 2018
H.Lee Mashburn Jr.1
August 2022
Phillip Simoneaux II1
February 2021
(#) denotes number of term

Contact Info:

Click here to visit their website.