This committee shall gather and address problems found within food production, consumption, processing, distribution, and waste disposal with the primary focus on finding solutions to problems that promote sustainability, economic development, and social justice in the food system of the Columbia and surrounding areas by educating government officials about issues of the food system, making policy recommendations, research, fostering of cooperation among private, public, and non-profit interests. 

Policy Recommendations:

 The Food Equity Subcommittee was formed in order to ensure the voices of Columbia residents living in low food access areas and those most impacted by inequities in the food system were the key drivers in the policy recommendations developed by the Columbia Food Policy Committee. This subcommittee has put together a robust report containing policy recommendations that were officially adopted by City Council in December 2019.  To view the entire report, click here.


The board consists of a minimum of fifteen (15) members.
Term of office is two (2) years with one (1) reappointment.



Meetings are held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

Committee Members:

Term Ends
John Andoh
June 2021
Marie Boyd
June 2021
Victoria Brown
June 2021
Richard Chesley
June 2021
Kitwanda Cyrus
June 2021
Tracy Dixon 
June 2021
Minetta Draft
June 2021
Carrie Draper
June 2021
Doug Groendyke
June 2021
John Newman
June 2021
Ashley Page
June 2021
Sarah Simmons 
June 2021
Christina Spach
June 2021
Heather BauerDecember 2022
John LovedayDecember 2022
Shana Hill Catoe December 2022
Rowan Goodrich 
December 2022
Kimberly Humphrey December 2022
Billy Quinlan December 2022


  • Communications
  • Food Equity
  • Local Procurement
  • Zoning

Contact Info:

Mr. Taylor Wright
Special Assistant
Office of the Mayor
City of Columbia
P.O. Box 147
Columbia, SC 29217
(803) 545-3039