The Climate Protection Action Committee (CPAC) is a volunteer group established to identify measures to reduce greenhouse gases. CPAC was initiated to impact climate change, but now also serves as the City's unofficial environmental clearinghouse, focusing on air quality, energy conservation, water conservation and recycling/waste reduction.

The committee's initial focus was internal to City government and is now also focusing on community outreach and education programs to encourage others to take action to live greener.


Click here to read the by-laws.


There are nine (9) council appointments. The Mayor and City Council each
appoint one (1) member. City Staff will appoint one (1) member.
Term of office is three (3) years with one (1) reappointment.


Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of the month at 8:30 a.m. at 
Public Works, 2910 Colonial Drive.

Committee Members:

Term Ends
Zach Laprise1
April 2022
Bob PetrulisFebruary 2023
Lori Ziolkowski1
May 2022
Deborah Stirling2
January 2024
John Epting2
March 2022
Penny Delaney Cothran1
May 2022
March 2022
Gretchen Lambert1
 December 2022
Marty White1December 2022
(#) Denotes number of term 

Contact Info:

Ms. Mary Pat Baldauf
Sustainability Facilitator
 City of Columbia
2910 Colonial Drive
Columbia, SC 29203
Phone: (803) 545-2722